inspiration found elsewhere

So, tonight I was reading the latest post by Shana and it made me reflect on my divorce eight years ago. It’s interesting (to me) where other people’s reminiscences will take you on a personal level. Hers took me to a time where I stripped myself of identity for another human being until finally, devastated and exhilarated, I left, reclaimed and rediscovered my persona, eight years older and stronger.

This song is the perfect statement for how my life felt at the time.

“I’m unconsoled, I’m lonely, I am so much better than I used to be.

The show I mentioned wanting to see in my last post? John K. Samson, lead singer of The Weakerthans, has just released a solo album. He’ll be in town in early April. He’s my favorite songwriter, and I think it would be good for me, the hubs, and little J to get to go before we are all essentially on house arrest. I’ve spoken at length to my tiny resident about how rad it would be to get to go, so hopefully we have some sort of understanding as to the logistics of pulling off a concert 6 days after our due date.

Anyway, enjoy.

~ by bemytomato on January 25, 2012.

2 Responses to “inspiration found elsewhere”

  1. good lord! i can’t believe i posted that damn thing!

  2. Well, i loved it, so there. There.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

